District 10 @ UE Square

Posted on December 7, 2013

0




If you have been frequenting 爱makan, it would be a surprise to finally see a new entry posted after way too long. Do accept my apologies as I have been exploring out of my comfort zone, food and into a couple much diversed and exciting paths for my photography hobby.

Then again one should never forget her roots and there I was at yet another tasting, in District 10 within UE Square. district10IMG_8403
Earlier this year, I was invited to dine in their latest addition in the Star Vista and the unpleasant experience did caused an impression in me.

So let’s see how this prime joint fare in the end, shall we?
district10IMG_8402

district10IMG_8397

district10 The restaurant had just gone through a revamp earlier this year and here’s the additions to the area, boasting a sleeker dining room, bar and private dining room for diners who wish to savour District 10’s refurbished menu.

district10IMG_8414

district10IMG_8434

Burratina Cheese with Peas, Sun-Dried Tomato Puree and Extra Virgin Olive Oil $18++

An effortless but fine salad.
district10IMG_8431

Pan-fried Goose Liver, Wild Berries Sauce and Balsamic Syrup $20++

One flavoursome starter that overwhelmed the whole palate.

district10IMG_8441

Homemade Angel Hair Pasta with Lobster, Peperoncino, Basil & Fresh Tomatoes $38++

Did I just brisk through the first two dishes? No doubts as the next was one of my favourites that evening.

This bisque-alike pasta was predictably smooth and rich. Embedded within are generous chunks of the crustacean and sweet halved cherry tomatoes. I do wish they could ease the price else I would rather have the Angus Striploin instead. (Continue reading, review for striploin just up ahead.)

district10IMG_8447

Homemade Foie Gras Ravioli, Light Parmesan Sauce & Scamorza Cheese $34++

Buttery and delicate livers enveloped in handmade pasta sheets, deluged in mellow cheese sauce. A sinful overkill of luscious ingredients.
district10IMG_8442

Grilled Kurobuta Pork Chop with Wild Berries Sauce $36++

Jiggle bell, Christmas is approaching. The wild berries versatile compote (see; Pan Fried Goose Liver & New York Cheese Cake), portrays the festive season but then again this new menu is not launched for the holiday.

I was not bowled over with the cut though, I prefer a less stubborn piece. The mash was favourably yummy enough to keep those thoughts at the back of the head. Thank goodness.district10IMG_8450

Signature Black Angus Beef Striploin, Fried Eggs & Black Truffle $36++

There, the infamous main that I have been talking about since the start of the entry. (see, Lobster Angel hair pasta.)

Look at those truffle shavings, screams. Topped with a runny sunny side up, the evenly incised steak was however unyielding or maybe just that morsel I got from sharing. Then again the reasonable price left me feeling skeptic. Generous fungi slices; Angus Beef Striploin and Goose fat fries. You do your own calculation.
district10IMG_8460

New York Cheese Cake $14++

I do recommend questing elsewhere for desserts.

My fair share of dos and don’ts are seemingly obvious, and unless you have spare cash to indulge go easy on the ordering. Which dish would I go back for, the Angus of course but would prefer keeping things medium rare anytime.

*This is a tasting invitation initiated by District 10. Thank you for the great hospitality that night. *

Address: #01-15/16/17, UE Square, 81 Clemenceau Avenue

Tel: 67384788 

Opening Hours
Mon – Thu: 11:30 – 23:00
Fri: 11:30 – 00:00
Sat: 11:00 – 00:00
Sun & PH: 11:00 – 23:00
Eve of PH: 11:30 – 00:00